A Bachelor’s Review: Make It Paleo

When I began my journey toward better health and fitness in June 2010, my diet underwent a  major drastic transformation. After some research I decided that the Paleo Diet made the most since for my lifestyle. (An gluten allergy test later confirmed medically I had made the right decision.) If you’ve read any of my other posts regarding my transformation and weight loss, there is no doubt in my mind that the Paleo Diet works. For me it’s more than a fad diet; I’ve chosen to make eating Paleo a lifestyle.

Balsamic and Rosemary Chicken | Click to Enlarge

About a month into my journey  of the Paleo lifestyle, I stumbled across The Food Lover’s Primal-Palate. Not only was I grateful to have finally found a resource for amazing recipes, but the photography was stunning and the directions for each recipe were simple enough for a bachelor to follow. Bill and Hayley’s blog quickly became my chief resource for planning my weekly menu. Their recipes kept me inspired and eating healthy, all the while not compromising flavor or leaving me feeling as if I was “missing out.” From Pulled Pork Barbecue to Balsamic and Rosemary Chicken, maintaining the Paleo lifestyle has been easier because of Bill and Hayley’s amazing recipes.

I continued to drop pounds and see the transformation take place. In January 2011 I ran my first 5K. After the race I sent Bill and Hayley the below e-mail:

Just wanted to write and share some awesome news with both of you. As I’m sure you saw on my Facebook updates, today was my first 5k. It was an amazing day filled with great excitement. I had set my alarm for 6:45a, but woke up perfectly rested and ready to go at 6:30a. From the starting line to the finish line, the race was so much fun. I finished the race in right at 29 minutes. My goal was to be under 30. Even more, I finished in the upper 1/3 of the runners there this morning!

But, that’s not the point of this e-mail. I wanted to write to say THANKS! This week has been full of meeting with individuals to discuss healthy eating and weight loss/getting in shape. What better way to do that than over a home cooked Paleo meal?! From chicken salad to rosemary chicken, your recipes have made entertaining fun again and inspired others to begin their journey toward healthy living/eating.

Thanks for all the time, effort, taste testing and beauty you put into the blog. You’ve fed me well over the past few weeks and helped me prepare for today’s 5k. So, in some way- you and your creativity with food played a part in my crossing the finish line today. You’re also now playing a part in helping others cross the starting line toward better health and wellness!

When I first heard that Bill and Hayley were working on cookbook, I was ecstatic. Knowing how they  strive for excellence with their blog (the recipes, writing and photography), the book would be nothing short of a masterpiece.

Several days ago my advance copy of Make It Paleo arrived. I’ve had about a week to flip though and create a few of the more than 200 grain-free recipes included. The book is conveniently categorized and has a handy “whisk meter” which shows the complexity of each recipe. The Paleo lifestyle means introducing some not so common items like Coconut Oil, Grass Fed Butter, Avocado Oil and Palm Shortening into one’s cooking. Thankfully Make It Paleo includes a dictionary of common Paleo foods, a Pantry Checklist, and an ingredient cheat sheet, making cooking easy for anyone just starting the Paleo lifestyle.

Chicken Satay with Sunbutter | Click to Enlarge

Tonight after a great workout with my friend Mark, he and I made one of the new recipes included in Make It Paleo: Chicken Satay with Sunbutter Sauce. The difficulty (two whisks) was accurate, along with the prep time. (I hate cook books that tell you how amazingly simple and easy it will be, but an hour later you’re still stuck chopping, measuring and waiting.) I can also say that Bill and Hayley didn’t PhotoShop the photos included in the book (at least I don’t think so), because thankfully my creation tonight turned out equally as beautiful. This dish would be perfect for entertaining during the holidays or to add some ethnic flare to any night of the week. Check out the recipe for the Chicken Satay below. If you want the recipe for the Sunbutter Sauce, which trust me, you do, you’ll have to buy the book!

Order Make It Paleo now via Amazon or Barnes & Nobel. 

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

