The Fresh 30 | My 180

If I was Oprah, Chipotle would be one of my favorite things. If I could afford it, I would eat at Chipotle for 2 meals a day.  (While my love for Chipotle is great, I love bacon far too much to give up my normal breakfast routine).

I read recently that there are three things you won’t find in any Chipotle:

  1. Freezers
  2. Microwaves
  3. Can Openers

The reasoning behind the decision not to supply their restaurants with such is simple: All menu items are prepared fresh daily from locally and ethically sourced ingredients that are never canned or frozen. Because of this philosophy, there’s no need for freezers, microwaves or can openers.

For the past several weeks I’ve contemplated if I could do the same: Go without the use of my freezer, microwave or can opener. Since beginning my journey toward better health and fitness in June 2010, 90% of what I consume is locally sourced, fresh and never canned nor frozen. I will admit though, the microwave provides a quick method of reheating leftovers and at times I’ve chosen frozen foods for convenience sake, often sacrificing the added health benefits that come from eating fresh meats, fruits and vegetables.

I’ve decided to challenge myself and embark on what I’m calling The Fresh 30. For the next 30 days (starting August 15th) I’m committing to not use my freezer, microwave or can opener. Every meal will be made from locally sourced ingredients either from my local Farmers’ Market or grocer, prepared fresh daily and made/reheated without the use of a microwave. During the next 30 days I’ll feature recipes from my friends at The Primal Palate as well as some of my own creations. Join me in taking the challenge or read along and enjoy the recipes and blog posts to come!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. While processed foods are not optimal, remeber that frozen foods are prepped right away, and are better than fresh things that have been trucked to your supermarket distribution center, then to your store….just a word for those with no local farmers market/local fresh/CSA available.

  2. Natasha says:

    Wow! I look forward to following your journey. The premise is very intriguing!

Leave a Reply

