The Cost Of Getting Healthy | My 180

I’ve had multiple friends and family members question me as to the cost of lifestyle change. (Notice I said lifestyle change, not diet… This is a forever commitment to myself to be healthy and active.) While there has been a cost to radically change what I eat, joining a gym and living a healthy lifestyle, I feel it’s completely worth it. (You only get one body.) Several of my friends have said “I’m sure it costs too much to eat organic and healthy now. I’ll wait until I’m older and have a better paying job to do that.” Immediately my next attempt is to prove to them that eating healthy doesn’t have to be expensive nor do you have to have a gym membership to get in shape. Here’s a break down of the general costs thus far for My 180:

-Running Shoes: $100.00 (Fleet Feet Sports)

-Gym Membership: $29.00/monthly; $30 Key Fee (Anytime Fitness; Negotiated to get Membership Fee waived.)

-Workout Clothes: $80.00 (Target; $40 when I started in June; $40 in August when I had to get smaller sized clothes)

-Initial  Grocery Trip: $120.00 (In early June my friend Mark helped me rid my kitchen of unhealthy items, replacing them with organic or all natural alternatives. While this initial shopping trip was expensive, it has made all the difference riding the my house of unhealthy snacks or things I crave. The old saying “out of sight, out of mind” holds true.)

TOTAL START-UP COST: $319.00


Each week I spend somewhere between $30-$50 on groceries. 90% of what I eat is organic. I’ve found that the organic produce and meat at Earth Fare is higher quality and normally priced cheaper than Publix. Earth Fare also offers coupons via e-mail and their website. On average I save $5-$10 a week with Earth Fare Coupons.

MONTHLY COST: $189.00 (includes Gym Membership and average of $40 weekly for groceries)

While one might look at the cost and think it’s too expensive or just not worth it, I’ve also saved a considerable amount of money by embracing a healthy and active lifestyle. In June I was taking Ambien each night so I could sleep. A month supply was $35.00. I was also taking a medication to control my OCD that was $90 a month. After consulting with my doctor I decided I no longer needed the Ambien for sleep or the medication for OCD. I truly believe that running and working out daily has helped me sleep better each night and has aided in controlling my OCD.

TOTAL MONTLY SAVINGS: $125.00


Do the benefits outweigh the costs? ABSOLUTELY. I’m blessed that I can wake up each morning knowing that today I am in the best shape of my life!  I Corinthians 6:19-20 is a clear reminder of how we are to treat our bodies:

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?  You are not your own; you were bought at a price.  Therefore honor God with your body,”

Leave a Reply

