Reevaluating Social Media

If you know me, you know that I am a social media addict. Blogs. Facebook. Twitter. I’m connected. Two years ago I won an “award” for the “Most Likely to Lead Someone To Christ Via Twitter.” Seriously. It was an award… I won it.

But seriously, some days I wonder if I’m addicted. I have a Twitter and Facebook app on my smart phone. I check my Facebook and Twitter while at work, several times throughout the day. I’ll check it on the go with my smart phone while in line at Earth Fare, shopping at Target, or even admittedly, on the toilet.

Today John Piper Tweeted: “One of the great uses of Twitter and Facebook will be to prove at the Last Day that prayerlessness was not from lack of time.” Ouch. While in recent weeks I have tried to limit my time engaged in social media, I’ve decided to take more deliberate steps. Here’s what I’ve done:

  1. Tracked how much time I am spending on Facebook, Twitter and reading/writing blogs.
  2. Deleted the Facebook and Twitter app from my smart phone. (Hopefully this will help break my addiction.)
  3. Committed to not read blogs or check Facebook and Twitter before work. Instead I am committing to start my day with scripture and without the influence of others tweets or status updates.
  4. Write one person a handwritten note each week.

Some might ask “why don’t you just delete your Facebook and Twitter accounts?” Well… um… I could… but I truly believe there is value in these communication tools. They’re effective for maintaining community/connectedness with friends as well as are a convienent method of communication. Sadly I think our generation utalizes these methods (along with text messaging) far too much and has forgotten the value of a phone call or handwritten note.

Is it time for you to evaluate your use of social media? I’d love to hear your thoughts. Comment below.

Leave a Reply

