Week 12 | My 180

Avoiding Obsession: Constantly I’m asked how many pounds I’ve lost. While I love the fact that you’re excited for me and the progress I’ve made, recently constant questioning has led to obsession over the pounds.

Early in this journey I saw a tendency in me to obsess over every pound. I would weigh myself when I woke up, again before my workout, after my workout and one last time before going to bed. It was an emotional roller coaster because as I’ve found out firsthand, one’s weight can fluctuate several pounds within the same day. In June I promised myself and my trainer Mark I wouldn’t weigh myself again until August 17th. (At that point I had lost 35lbs). I have since made a promise not to weigh myself again until October 17th. So now when you ask how many pounds I’ve lost now, my answer will be “I don’t know.”

So what’s the point of this post? My 180 isn’t just about the pounds. As a result of working out I’m able to run miles without feeling like I’m going to die. (At the start I could barely run a mile in under 15 minutes.) My push ups, sit ups, burpees and air squats have improved. I now feel comfortable in a gym and no longer avoid the 6p crowd. But even more than all of that, my self confidence has greatly improved. To me, that’s priceless in comparison to the pounds.


A Reminder and Motivation: Recently the Lord reminded me of several verses that are serving not only as a reminder of why I’m taking steps to get healthy/loose weight, but also are an awesome motivation.

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, Who is in you, Whom you have received from God? … So use every part of your body to give glory back to God…”  1 Corinthians 6:19-20

“You were bought at a price.  Therefore honor God with your body.” 1 Corinthians 6:20

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

