Weeks Seven, Eight and Nine | My 180

It’s been a while since I have written a My 180 update.  The core is the same: daily exercise and consistently making healthy food choices. Here are some of the highlights from the past few weeks.

Take Your Shirt Off: No, not you. If you searched all of my Facebook pictures, or even my picture albums for that matter, you’d never find a picture of me with my shirt off.  Promise. My self confidence has been in the NEGATIVE and I have never felt comfortable taking my shirt off around others. While I am far from chiseled abs and lean, tight pecs, I finally am starting to feel comfortable going for a run or being at the pool shirtless. (Though I learned my lesson with applying and reapplying sunscreen.) Seeing changes in my body/losing weight has definitely been a confidence booster.

Clothes Shopping: I’ve always hated going clothes shopping. Wearing an XXL shirt and size 44 pants greatly limited the selection I have had to choose from when shopping for clothes. Last week I had no choice but to go clothes shopping. My shirts were way too big and my pants and short were literally falling off of me. I’m ecstatic (seriously, ecstatic) to report that I am now wearing an XL shirt and size 38 pants.

The Never-ending Hamster Wheel: I hate the treadmill. It keeps going, and going, making me feel like a hamster running on his round wheel. (Though I swear the hamster enjoys it more than I.) My friend Mark always tells me, “you’re either gonna keep up or fall off.” Saturday night I set a new record: 1 mile in 12 minutes. That’s a 1.33 minute improvement over my old time.

The Weigh In: My first weigh in is Tuesday, August 17th. Check back for the results from the first 2 months of my 180.

One Comment Add yours

  1. evan says:

    Great work James! I’m so proud of the progress you’ve made. You know, the physical and the spiritual are only as separate as we pretend they are. The discipline and growth (or shrinkage!) you are seeing physically is a deeply spiritual matter and is indicative of an overall health welling up inside you. You are, as always, in my prayers.

    Peace!

Leave a Reply

