Thursdays at 2p

Rarely does one choose to dive into the deep, painful depths of their heart. For many, pain and emotional anguish from past scars often goes unexposed and therefore, unhealed. All too frequently, it isn’t until some crisis or trying time when emotions well up that the past comes back to haunt.  I’ve never met someone that chose to go to counseling simply for the “thrill of it” or because they had nothing better to do with their time. Personally, I think the epidural injections I had when I was having back pain were more fun and far less painful than some of my recent counseling sessions.

Recently I had the privilege of having coffee with what has become a dear and valuable friend of mine. I never imaged that the conversation we shared over a cup of coffee would forever change my life. We spent two hours sharing our stories. Childhood. Challenges. Abuse. The loss of innocence. Fear. Anger. Heartbreak. His story included deliberate steps toward redemption, healing and wholeness. While I have at times taken steps toward healing, I’ve given up when the pain gets intense. That day at Starbucks my friend challenged me to deliberately pursue healing and wholeness. The next day I made a call to set up my first counseling session.

I’m praying that this time will be different. I’ve been in counseling for 3 weeks now. While I dread Thursdays at 2p, I know the pain I experience now will be worth it in the end. I believe this time is different. I’m blessed to have amazing, deep friendships with Godly people walking with me though this season. I have brothers that are holding me accountable to attending my counseling sessions. I have family who is praying for me. I’m praying that the Lord will help me to embrace this season with honesty, boldness and confidence that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion. (Philippians 1:6)

Leave a Reply

