Don’t Be Fooled

Don’t be fooled by the confident, sometimes witty and sarcastic exterior. Inside, I am scared and my self-confidence is quickly dwindling. You see, I’ve been unemployed for two solid months. I completed over 50 job applications, 20 online personality assessments, and to date have only been offered one interview.

When I got laid off I kept telling myself “your identity isn’t in a job… it’s in Christ.” That was easy for me to believe then, considering the job I was laid off from had me locked in a cubical 8 hours a day. Victory had come! I was finally free from the job I hated for so long. I felt as if me being laid off was God’s way of pushing me on to the next thing He has for me.

But now, fast-forward 2 months. I am realizing that the  job I hated  brought stability. It brought routine. It brought financial security. It provided health insurance. (And we all know I need health insurance!) Am I guilty of finding my identity in my job? Maybe?!

As the old hymn says: “My hope is built on nothing less, than Jesus’ love and righteousness.” Some days I can easily cling to Christ as my hope  Lately, it’s been an all out war to simply remain confident and continue to find my identity and hope in Christ.

So for now I must press on and believe that: “On Christ the solid rock I stand; all other ground is sinking sand.”

One Comment Add yours

  1. Janie says:

    I think people identify us with what we do, our job. It is the first question people ask you, just what do you do. I am a RN with a 4 year degree in nursing BSN. I achieved it during my late thirtys. It was my passion, I loved it, believed it was how God wanted me to serve him. Then I became disable with fibromylgia. I was never sick before and could not understand why God would let this happen to me. I remember one day with my two sons in Khols and I ran into a RN I worked in the ER with a few years ago. The first thing she asked me was where are you working now? I could not speak, I crumbled into tears and turn and told my sons we have to leave. My feelings were I am nothing. all the experience, college, were erased out like they had never been there. When you find the answer to your question, please let me know. I have not found the answer and it has been 8 years and I have not accepted what was stolen from me.You have youth on your side, maybe God wants you to do something else. Go back to college and get a degree in something you love and feel passion when you are doing it. God has blessed you with many talents, ask Him which one He wants you to do.I will continue to pray for you.

Leave a Reply

