Plotting My Next Move

The letter arrived in the mail two weeks ago. The first line began with “Now that your employment with Wells Fargo has ended…” What?! Wait? I just started working for Wells Fargo. As their marketing team likes to say, I just “boarded the stagecoach.” But this letter indicated my “ride” had now come to an end.

I’ve worked for Wells Fargo (formerly Wachovia) for the past four years. I received a letter two weeks ago informing me that I no longer have a position within the Company. While for most their initial response to a letter like this would be anger or sadness, I’ve felt an amazing since of freedom. For the past year or so, I have dreaded each morning going to work. In a since, I have really felt that the Lord is freeing me from a job that caused anxiety and depression. The since of freedom continues even now, two weeks later.

Yet, mixed in with the  emotions I’ve felt is fear. Fear over what’s next. Fear over finances. Fear over decision making. In the back of my mind there’s a fear of not being able to find a job, having to move back to my hometown of HIgh Point, NC and live in my dad’s basement. The movie Failure to Launch is my worst nightmare. To date I’ve applied for at least 20 jobs. I have yet to hear back from any of them regarding an interview.

No one would argue that the key thing a job provides is money. I have also found that maybe even more important for one’s sanity and stability, a job provides a valuable routine. There’s a consistency to life that one gains by having a job. I knew that Sunday though Wednesday, 6:30a to 3:30p, I was going to be at work. Now that routine is gone. After 4 years of the same routine, I’m  left without a rhythm. (And no, I didn’t find my identity in my job. I mean seriously, answering the phone in a 6’x6′ cubical all day. Who wants to find their identity and self-worth in that?!)

So what’s next? Honestly, I wish I knew. As I’ve said before, I currently feel called to Columbia. My friends here have become family. I’ve lived in Columbia for the since August 2004. While Columbia isn’t the city of my dreams or where I’m supposed to be forever, I’m certain it’s where I am supposed to continue to call home for now.

So in the days ahead I ask for your prayers and encouragement. Wednesday I go before the State Labor Board against Wachovia. Also, hopefully this will be the week that I start receiving call backs and interviews. Pray as well for financial discernment and blessing.

Feel free to post your comments or prayers. You can also e-mail me directly at Combs.Jamison@gmail.com.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Praying for ya sir. Keep us posted.

  2. Nathan Aaron says:

    Geesh! A letter in the mail? That just seems all kinds of tacky. Hope you find something you love!

Leave a Reply

