CONNECT(ed)?

Tonight I got to do what I love: Listen to people’s stories, help them figure out where they’re at, then help them take steps to get deeper connected. Part of my responsibility in heading up Relational Ministry at Midtown is leading a monthly session we call CONNECT. At CONNECT we brew some of the finest coffee around (actually, it’s Starbucks) and try to create a comfortable, conversation conducive environment (complete with a bright green lamp and fake grass.)  I’m blessed to have a group of  Missionary Members that commit one Sunday night a month to sharing with guests how they got connected at Midtown then make recommendations on steps to take to become connected to our church, and hopefully in turn more connected to Him. (Being “connected” and having a ton of relationships doesn’t do crap unless you’re growing deeper in your relationship with God.)

Here are some of the ways I recommend to get more CONNECTed to any church:

  • Take the Membership Class: It’s a great way to learn about the foundational beliefs of the church, how it got started, and where the leadership of the church envisions God taking the direction of the church. It’s also your chance to learn more about the ministries of the church and to meet some other people that are new to the church. (At Midtown we offer Membership Classes every few months, normally once per quarter.)
  • Volunteer on Sundays: Most churches have a ton of volunteer opportunities that need to be filled. It’s a great way to serve but also a good chance to meet new people and build relationships. Serving on Sundays is also great if you don’t have a ton of time during the week.
  • Community Missions: An amazing by-product of serving others is that you become friends with the people you are serving with. Most churches have service projects, weekly ministry opportunities, or community outreach events.
  • Join a Small Group: I know for me, I got CONNECTed at Midtown once I started hanging out with a small group of people on a regular basis. Soon after joining Midtown I also joined a Life Group (that’s Midtown’s term for a Small Group.) Not only do we meet weekly for dinner and a time of studying scripture together, we also do life together. My Life Group is who I call when I am facing something fierce or when I am sick with the flu. No matter what’s going on, I know I can turn to these guys to help me face life and to push me in my walk with God.

No matter what church you’re at, it’s important to live in community. If you’re at Midtown and are seeking ways to get better CONNECTed, feel free to contact me.

One Comment Add yours

  1. mellie says:

    thanks for all you do! i love being a part of it.

Leave a Reply

