Passionate About… What?

Recently I have been thinking though ministry, my current “career” choice and what I am passionate about. I have worked in the financial industry for almost four years, and while it pays the bills, it’s not what I am passionate about. Sure, I have learned a lot of valuable lessons, been provided for financially (as well as being able to have major back surgery which cost over $136,000.00 for almost next to nothing), and hopefully have spoken into and had some lasting effect on the lives of my coworkers. But again, at the end of the day, the financial industry isn’t what I am passionate about.

Recently I had breakfast with my friend Allen and he asked me the simple yet blunt question, “What are you passionate about?” I was silent for a while and allowed the question to penetrate my thoughts and start to work it’s way into my heart. Some answers quickly rolled off my tongue, some being truth and some simply what sounded good at the moment. The answers I rattled off  I will however save for a later post.

Friends and family, even acquaintances, I have two questions I ask for you to answer with honesty:

  1. What do you see me as being passionate about?
  2. Where do you see the Lord using me (past, current or future)?
Feel free to post your reply on this blog by hitting the COMMENT button above, or for deeper, more personal responses, please either e-mail me or send me a Facebook message. Thank you in advance for helping me look at my life from all angles as I pray, listen and discern what God has next for my life.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. stunningman says:

    Hey man – great questions! How bout you not stand me up Fri, and we could talk about them 🙂

  2. Matt Chandler had a brilliant post that I think might be about where you are. check out “Pursuit” at http://dwelldeep.net/?p=37 and let me know what you think..

Leave a Reply

