Reading The Fine Print

The acceptance letter came in the mail on Monday. I have officially been accepted at Strayer University. For some reason, my acceptance into this institution of higher learning didn’t seem like as much of a big deal as when I was accepted at Southern Wesleyan upon graduating from High School. Either way, I got in.

I have been throwing around the thought of finishing my undergraduate degree. It’s not really as much “finishing” as it is “starting over.”  I’m about two-thirds of the way though a degree in Youth Ministry. It would seem that it would make since for me just to finish it, right?  But passions change. One morning I work up and it hit me like a ton of bricks: I hate teenagers. Passions change. To be honest, I am not sure what I feel called to do anymore.

Wachovia will pay $5000.00 a year toward the completion of my undergrad. It’s a great deal. However, it comes with some fine print.

A two-year service obligation is required after receiving reimbursement from the plan for undergraduate or graduate courses taken for a degree. An employee will meet the two-year service requirement for a reimbursement if he or she is regularly scheduled to work 20 or more hours each week throughout the two-year period following the date of reimbursement.

  • The reimbursement amount must be repaid to Wachovia on a prorated basis.
  • The repayment amount will be referred to Wachovia’s internal collections team. The employee will have seven (7) calendar days to repay the amount due.
  • If the amount is not repaid, the collections team may use all available collection means in order to collect amounts due.

The fine print is what makes this decision a tough one.  If I go back to school, I could complete my degree in about two years. After that point, I would be committed to working for Wachovia another two years, or be forced to repay any funds they’ve paid toward my education, about $10,000.00.

The bottom line: I have a fear of commitment, especially when it comes to committing to a job that even now, doesn’t excite me.  Then throw in my thoughts of escaping the cubical jungle, planting a church and starting a family.  All of these things could take place within the next four years.

What are your thoughts? Should I go back to school, even with the fine print?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. jonathanbryant says:

    Dude, you got this.
    You are a man of God, you hear from God, and He’s talking to you.

    You do what you gotta do. I say school is one of the best things God invented, if it’s available to you. Would you want to commit to Wachovia for the whole time you’re in school plus two years after? It’s totally up to you and Jesus… just listen.

    I love you bro, and it seems like you’re in a good place. Good on ya.

    -JB

  2. Beau says:

    My sweet Jamison, here is what I know:

    1. Jesus is in control of our lives. He gives us desires and passions and teaches us what he wants us to know.but enough super-spiritual psychobabble.

    2. Take a look at what you wamt to be doing five-ten years from now. Pray. Talk to people who are presently where you want to be. Take notes. Put all of your options on note cards and spread them out on a table so you can look at them in the face. Pray again. Decide what your first step (maybe a baby step) will be. Pray again.

    All of that crap being said, I don’t think there is a formula for this sort of thing. This is what I’m going through these days as well and these are the steps I’ve taken.

  3. Travis Wright says:

    Commitment is a powerful thing that is not to be taken lightly. Commitment means sticking it out even if your passions change (obviously to a certain extent – you can’t fight God if He’s calling you somewhere different).

    I’ve had 2 jobs since I’ve gotten out of college. The first was full time at a church and now as you know, full time at a bank. For each one, I’ve committed to work at least 2 years before even starting to look elsewhere or change my mind. I’ve been at the bank for 2 years now and I stayed at the church full time for 2 years, and then part time for another 2 years. There were times when I wanted to change before those 2 years were up, but I committed (only to myself, not anybody else) to spend 2 years.
    I think the best thing when dealing with long term commitments is to not make a quick decision. Take time to think about it. Go ahead and make the decision in your mind. Sign the papers, but don’t send them in. See if you have a peace about it. If not, don’t do it.
    When the time comes to make a decision, be willing to stick with it. If you go to school, go ahead and commit to 4 years at Wachovia. Think through what that means. Understand up-front that you will probably have numerous times when you want to leave Wachovia. You’ll have times when you’ll wrestle with that commitment. However, I think $10,000 would be enough to keep you from walking away from a commitment.
    That’s enough of a mumble-jumble ramble, but I hope that’s helpful.

  4. Travis Wright says:

    http://www.wltx.com/news/story.aspx?storyid=65108&provider=top

    i hope this doesn’t affect you, although it could make your choice a little easier couldn’t it?!!!

Leave a Reply

