Less of a Man

Today something occurred that made me deeply question my manhood: I got a flat tire. I know, you’re thinking “why would Jamison question his manhood over something so trivial and stupid as a flat tire?”   Here’s why:

Upon noticing that my tire was flat and muttering a few choice words, I quickly went into panic mode. I questioned if I could figure out how to remedy this myself or should I just give in, face the fact that I don’t know how to fix a flat tire (much less put air in my tire) and call the friendly folks at Kia Roadside Assistance. (Mind you the car was actually parked in my driveway, so I don’t know if it would qualify for Roadside Assistance, since this situation was missing the ever important “Roadside” part.

I decided to at least make an attempt to fix this myself.  I quickly jumped on my computer, Googled “how to fix a flat tire” and began my journey to proper tire inflation. Based on what I read, the first thing should be to re-inflate the tire.  I grabbed some change and drove my car across the street to the gas station.  By the grace of God I figured out how to put air in my tire, all the time cringing and praying I wouldn’t over-inflate it to the point of exploding.

Step two was according to the directions was to find what had punctured the tire, remove it, then patch the tire.  All of this seemed extremely difficult and since there were no pictures guiding me though this process, I decided my local Firestone could probably do a better job than I.

30 minutes and $53.00 later, I drove away from Firestone with a new tire.  According to Brandon (the Firestone fix-it-guy), my tire was extremely worn and was on the verge of popping. (I don’t know how because my Kia is less than two years old.) He said the tire was also currently over-inflated. (Yeah Brandon- I did that.)  I have no idea if he was telling the truth or if this was just a way ripping me off and getting me to pay $53.00 for new tire instead of $12.00 for him to just fix the hole in my flat.

I feel like as a guy I should know how to fix a flat, check my oil and jump start a car battery.  Today was one of those days that I felt like I missed out on important “Guy Life Lessons” because my dad decided to walk out 20 years ago, leaving me to figure things out on my own.  This feeling also overflows into my relationship with the Lord because I haven’t had a Godly man walk with me from birth into becoming the man I am today at 24, speaking into my life, encouraging me, and shaping me to be a strong, courageous man of God.

Today I felt like less of a man. It frustrates the hell out of me that I missed out on so much because of one man’s choice not to be a father.

One Comment Add yours

  1. evan says:

    First of all, I love your tags. Hilarious. Second of all, how the hell did I not ever teach you more about cars? Blame this one on me James, not you! 🙂 Seriously though, you’re a good man James Combs. You have faced more crap than most and are still alive and kicking. I’m proud of you. Peace.

Leave a Reply

