Fixing Ourselves.

Problems. Troubles. Issues.  We all have them. Lord knows I have spent hundreds (if not thousands) of dollars on counseling sessions in an effort to “fix myself.” Group sessions. One on one. Insensitive. Weekly. Biweekly. Outpatient. Inpatient. Christian. Secular. Counseling comes in many forms, yet it can only take us so far.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying counseling is a bad thing. I simply think that many of us, at least in my generation, have become obsessed with fixing ourselves.  We focus on the problem (our issue), purchase every self help book available, attend multiple counseling sessions, maybe go to a seminar, all the time leaving Jesus out of the picture. Now more than ever, I am convinced that many of us simply just need Jesus.

I’ve spent the past few months simply living in community and seeking Jesus.  I think I’ve made more progress in the journey of restoring my heart recently than I have though the countless hours of counseling sessions and group therapy.  I’ve found that as I seek Jesus, asking Him to speak to me, about me and my issues, all the while living in deep, honest community with those around me, restoration happens.  Healing takes place.  I’ve stopped focusing so much on my “issues” and more so on my relationship with the one who can fix my issues and restore even the most broken parts of me.

My good friend Jon Ludovina had some awesome things to say about this topic tonight at Midtown.  Go here to listen to his message.

Leave a Reply

