A Day Off

It’s 4:35 in the morning and I still can’t sleep. I think my sleep schedule has been screwed up by working weird hours and now having a roommate. Don’t get me wrong- having a roommate is awesome, but we often forsake sleep to instead stay up and watch Family Guy or converse in deep philosophical conversation.

Today I simply enjoyed a day to myself. According to Starbucks payroll, I took my personal day. “What does that mean?” you ask. Starbucks paid me for working eight hours today and I didn’t even step in the front door. In January and again in July we as partners are awarded a paid personal day to take any time within the next six months. I chose to take mine today.

I decided to start the day off right by sleeping until 2p. I then awoke and made myself breakfast. It was a humble breakfast of oatmeal and milk. Then showered and got dressed and headed out to run some errands in Columbia.

Post Office. Starbucks for a Cinnamon Dolce Latte. Back home to cut grocery coupons and look at store ads. Then the fun.

$101.89. That is the combined total that I spent on groceries today between Publix and Wal-Mart. The freezer and cabinets are now stocked well. I also purchased those items that you have to have like mustard and spices. I now feel like I have the items I need here at home to cook quality meals. Finally I can quit eating shit meals and fast food. I now plan on cooking for myself each night.

Went to Wal-Mart with Joel. Bought random items: Nightlight. Red bed sheet. Curtain rod. Ice cream. Frozen fruit. Tampons. (Okay… We didn’t by the tampons after all.) Also in pointless, but sometimes worthy news: The Wal-Mart on Harbison Bvd. is being remodeled.

Back home.

Planning An Evening at The Plex: An Official Open House. Probably going to happen in February once everything is painted and we get the yard cleaned up some. Want to have a lot of friends and family over and enjoy a good meal together. Lou said she wants to come over and see the place once it’s done… That gives me some motivation to work on getting the bathroom and kitchen painted and decorated.

Trying to sleep. Work tomorrow from 10a to 2p. I hate four hour shifts. It seems pointless driving 20 minutes to and from work just to work for four hours. I am already craving another Cinnamon Dolce Latte though.

Good night.

Leave a Reply

